Stations of the Cross is a devotion often taken during Lent, where we recall the key moments of Christ’s Passion (suffering) and death. The devotion is most often conducted by moving physically around a set of ‘stations’ normally around the church wall. These stations are pictorial representations, reliefs or paintings, of fourteen key ‘scenes’ on the journey for Jesus’s condemnation by Pilate to his laying in the tomb following his death on Calvary. In essence we ‘walk with Christ’ to the point of his death, share his suffering and reflect inwardly on our lives and actions as we do so.

The stations themselves are:

  1. Jesus is condemned to death
  2. Jesus carries His cross
  3. Jesus falls the first time
  4. Jesus meets His mother
  5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry the cross
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
  7. Jesus falls the second time
  8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
  9. Jesus falls the third time
  10. Jesus is stripped of his garments
  11. Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross
  12. Jesus dies on the cross
  13. Jesus is taken down from the cross (Deposition or Lamentation)
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.

A 15th station, Jesus’s Resurrection, is sometimes commemorated before the altar.

The Stations of the Cross is celebrated in our church during Lent, every Sunday. Please see the service times section for more details.

Explore our own Stations of the Cross

We adore you, O Christ and we bless you:
for by your Holy Cross you have redeemed the world

have mercy on us

Comments are closed